Book Review; All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Posted on 1 August, 2013 by Faye - 5 Comments

All Our YesterdaysAuthor: Cristin Terrill
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Published: 1st August 2013
Pages: 362
Format: Paperback
Source:: ARC from Publisher
Add It: Goodreads, Amazon UK, TBD

Summary:
A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.


With Only One
When I first heard about All Our Yesterdays I was instantly intrigued. Not only was I hooked in with a stunning cover and an interesting synopsis, the hype for this book had already started. Intrigued, I quickly started reading the book and found myself well and truly pulled into the story. I finished the book a few weeks ago and have since begged my blogger friends who had ARCs to read it, and since then the hype for this book has tripled. Thus I realise that some people may fear reading this book, worrying that they will be the only one not to like it but all I can say is to ignore all of the hype and to just read it. I can almost certainly guarantee that you will not regret the experience. This is a book that is incredibly powerful, absolutely stunning, and full of a unique and intense story that will leave you feeling suitably satisfied. Just as every book you read should.

Way To Save

Time travel is actually a concept that I wouldn’t normally read about in books. I love watching it in films, seeing how it all comes together and falls apart but it isn’t a subject that would normally entice me to pick up a book. So when I picked up All Our Yesterdays, I have to admit to starting it with a little bit of caution. But within instants of starting, all of my worries were thrown out of the window as I was abducted into the story, the real world around me blurring into nothing. While I was expecting the plot to be complicated due to the nature of the story, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case at all. I knew who everyone was, what was happening and why, and it was simply incredibly easy to follow the story along – and to get fully sucked into it at the same time! I’m not going into too much detail with the plot so as not to spoil it, but know that it was an exceptional plot handled extremely well.

The Future

From the very first moment, it was easily noticeable how well Cristin Terrill is at writing believable and realistic characters. These characters had deep thoughts, powerful personalities, and a tonne of flaws that shaped them into interesting characters to read about, and easy characters to fall in love with hard and fast. My favourite character – by far – was Finn. He was an easily likeable character who was friendly, had a lot hidden within him, was protective and caring and just a truly amazing person that you just wished was alive in real life. I loved reading about him and seeing his journey and everything that happened with him. The book was made ten times better simply by having him within the book. Em was also a character that I loved from the first moment. She was strong, but also worried and panicked, she had feelings that cut you to the very core and was just a character that I could easily connect with. I wanted so many things for her and I just adored reading all about her and the journey that she was taking. The connection between these two characters really made this book worthwhile. In all honesty, I could probably mention every character in the book here as characters that I enjoyed as that was simply the power of Cristin’s writing.

Could You

After finishing this book, it is still incredibly difficult for me to comprehend the fact that Cristin Terrill is a debut author. She is so immensely talented that as I was reading this book, the real world simply vanished around me – (and at one point I nearly missed my stop on the train!) – I found it difficult to put the book down, and harder still to continue living without picking it back up to find out what happened next! The writing style flowed easily, it was informative and entertaining all at the same time and it made me feel so many different emotions throughout the story that it is a book that will stay in my mind as one I truly connected with. If this is how talented Cristin Terrill is after just her first book, it is only fair to say that I cannot wait to see how much better she gets as the years go by.

Change The Past

If you haven’t gotten the memo yet, I absolutely loved All Our Yesterdays. This was a book that simply blew me away from the minute that I started reading it until the minute until I put it down again. It was a book that I found so good that I really struggled to write this review as I didn’t want to over-hype it. I didn’t want to use too many superlatives that made you roll your eyes and question my honesty, but it would be impossible to review this book without them. This book was just one that took my breath away and quickly made its way into my top ten of 2013. If you’re a reader who likes YA with a twist, if you’re a reader who likes unique stories that pull you in, ones that promise to be full of action, intrigue, and mystery, then I can only highly recommend that you pick this book up and give it a go as I am positive that you will thoroughly enjoy this book, just as I have.

five stars

** I received this copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. **

faye1

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: