Books,  Guest Post

Series Week – Day Two

Hey Guys!
Today I am introducing you to H. A. Caine, the author of From Love and Pain. She has kindly written a guest post for this blog featuring her favourite m/m series.
I can’t thank her enough for helping out and I hope you like her post!


Hi, everybody!

I’m new here and just want to say Thank You to the wonderful Faye for having me here.
My name’s H.A. Caine and I write Male/Male Romance. I can’t think of anything better than a delightfully sexy, sweet, engaging story about two men falling in love with each other. Yum!
Now, hard as I may find it sometimes, not everyone in the world reads or has read a gay romance. You’ve no idea what you’re missing!

I’ve taken it upon myself to inform you of 4(odd number, IK) wonderful series by some of my favorite m/m authors. I chose these 4 specifically as introductory series to this genre. So if you’re interested and just have not read any yet because you’ve no idea where you would start, fear no more! These stories are great, involving and better yet, they ALL have an HEA/HFN (Happily-Ever-After/Happy-For-Now). All links will take you back to the author’s/series page on Goodreads.

I’ll start with J L Langley‘s Ranch Series

There are only two books in this fantasic cowboy series, although I’m still holding out for a third. Hope, evermore!

The series begins with the The Tin Star. I’m not going to go into all that the book was about. The main character Jamie doesn’t want to hide anymore and tells his dad and brother he’s gay. Daddy I’m-Such-A-Bigot Dearest kicks him out. His brother’s closeted bestfriend takes him in. Jamie’s been in love with Ethan all his life and the story unfolds from there. It’s a great read with unexpected twists and turns. You can’t help but love Jamie. He’s like the perfect little brother (one you actually want to hug instead of strangle :P).

The Broken H is about Grey, the sheriff you meet in The Tin Star. There’s not much I can say without giving away big parts of the story, but I will say this. Grey has got some really interesting kinks and J L Langley will write them in a way that makes you want to go and try it yourself. *wink, wink*

The next series I want to suggest is Cattle Valley by Carol Lynne

This series has over 25+ booms. I know that sounds intimidating but you don’t have to reach all of them, although I think once you get started you will want to. I know I sure did.

The series takes p,ace in a small town called Cattle Valley hidden within the mountains of Wyoming. It’s a GLBT community. A philanthropist donated the acres of land it exists on in the hopes of giving GLBT people a place to feel safe and at home. More is explained in the first book. IMHO, everyone should read this series. Gays, lesbians, bisexuals, transgenders etc… Carol Lynne acknowledges all and gives everyone a story to remember. These characters will come alive for you and have you waiting in line for the next book to come out.

Another series by Carol Lynne is Campus Cravings

There are 14 books in this series and counting. It takes place on a campus and focuses on the teachers, students, and those connected to them. It even references some of the characters from Cattle Valley.
The first few books lead up to the building of an all-gay dormitory to help students dealing with gay bashings or who just want to live on campus, are gay and want a place of their own. My only wish is that there really exist places like this where men and women alike are free to be themselves, surrounded by like minded peers. I love this series. Again, her characters are real and deal with a vast range of problems. There will be tears, some of sadness and pain, but even more of happiness. Fair warning.

Last, but not least is Jet Mykles’ Heaven Sent Series

As far as I’m concerned there are only 4 main books. The other two are add-ons. One is a look into the lives of all the characters after their stories have been written and the other is a m/f/m, not my cuppa tea but it’s probably just as good as the others.
Heaven Sent is a rock band. Each book is about a member of the band and the love of their lives. Not all of them are gay at the beginning of the series, or at least they don’t know it but at all time they are all freakin’ awesome! I love these guys. I want to say I have a favorite book, but I can’t as I like each book better than the others for different reasons.
Heaven(BK1): the discriptions are off the hook
Purgatory(BK2): better creativness among the MCs
Hell(BK3): the imp; the hair, the accent, just…perfect
Faith(Bk4): felt more realistic, especially the conflicts

Okay, so there you have it! Four¬†fantastically, amazing book series to give a try if you haven’t already. I hope you enjoy my picks and let me know what you think of them!

H.A. Caine remains in her home town of Brooklyn, New York. Relatively young, she still lives at home with her mom and one of three older brother. She has hopes of becoming a great writer and one day opening her own bakery. Currently, she has self published From Love and Pain on Smashwords. Among other writing projects, she’s working on a series of her own, Boys in Love. The first book, Letting Go, will be available soon.

Reach her at:

Goodreads: Author’s Page
Twitter: @H_ACaine
Blog: Caine Books
Or Email:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: